turn and chop with fist

tanmeiryu

turn and chop with fist

Post by tanmeiryu »

i have questions!
i had studied other martial arts for quite a few years before i started learning tai chi chuan. once i realized the value of tcc
i gave up my other studies to concentrate on the grand ultimate fist.
in my other studies i learned that a back fist was performed with the knuckles leading the strike. this is done so that the knuckles strike first and to protect the fragile bones in the hand.
in the "yang family tai chi chuan traditional form" dvd, master yang jun performs this strike with his wrist bent towards his body so that either the wrist or the small bones of the hand receive the impact of the blow.
am i misunderstanding this?
can somebody explain why this is performed this way?
thanks for any help you can give. this will be the first of many questions i have about the long form.

[This message has been edited by tanmeiryu (edited 04-25-2008).]
Bob Ashmore

Post by Bob Ashmore »

Tan,
I may not be the best person to answer this question for you, but I will try.
Make a loose fist but don't bend your wrist in the TBCWF fashion. Now strike the back of your fist into your other open palm. Hard.
Where do you feel the pain?
Now bend your wrist like you are supposed to do in the form. Again strike your other open plam. Hard.
Where did you feel it that time?

Hopefully that answers your question.

This is a strike to your opponents nose. You are striking cartilidge, not bone, with this strike.
The wrist bend, as far as I understand this (which isn't very far admittedly), is for two reasons. First to put your striking surface in the correct angle to come down circularly across your opponents face. Second to strengthen the back of your fist so it is properly "set" to accept the strike.
Others will hopefully have better answers for you. Mine is simply my understanding of the form and should not be taken as anything "official" about it.