'Draining' energy query

The Wandering Brit

'Draining' energy query

Post by The Wandering Brit »

Hi,

I'm pretty new to Yang style Tai Chi - in fact to the internal arts in general - and have been trawling round the internet looking for sources of information. I've been reading threads on this board for the last week and it seems to be populated by really helpful, insightful people, so if you don't mind a Brit attempting to join in then any advice would be appreciated.

As I said, I am very new to the style but have been reading up on everything I can for personal interest and to help to prepare myself (hopefully) for what is to come. One thing that is cropping up a lot in books etc. is Fah Jing and also other different forms of Jing, and this is where my quesry lies.

Some years ago when I was training in Wing Chun I got the chance to do some sticky hands (which I believe has many similarities, on certain levels, to push hands) with a much older, more experienced practitioner. With no discernible physical effort on his part, within 30 seconds he had totally drained my body of energy. I literally felt that all my life force had been sucked away and my arms were too heavy to move.

Unfortunately, I moved away shortly after and was unable to extend my Wing Chun studies any further or indeed ask my Sifu about it. I know that he had a strong grounding in the internal arts and focused on chi with advanced students, but by the time I moved away I had only been training with him long enough to begin to scratch the surface.

So my question is this: are you, as Tai Chi practioners, aware of this technique? Is it a kind of Jing, do you use it in push hands practice - or do you think it is something else entirely?
Wushuer

Post by Wushuer »

Brit,
There's folks here from all over the world, even quite a few other Brits. So no problems there.
Welcome to the boards and Yang style.

I will not make any kind of comment on your Jing question, at this time.