jerky movement in smooth form seems out of place

machanrahan

jerky movement in smooth form seems out of place

Post by machanrahan »

Hi,

I'm new here. I've been practising for about 6 months now. And I'm loving it.

I would like to know if anyone can explain the (small) jump to change direction after "turn body and right heel kick", just before "twin fists strike opponents ears" (2nd section of the long form)?

In such an elegant, controlled form it seems wrong since there's appears no way to "jump" slowly and in a controlled manner.

And what about the breathing at that point?
Audi

Re: jerky movement in smooth form seems out of place

Post by Audi »

Greetings machanrahan,

Welcome to the board! It's great you are enjoying your practice.

I am pretty sure which move you are talking about; however, we perform it as a one-legged pivot, rather than as a jump. As for why it is in the form, I do not recall what explanations I have heard, but I view it as adding spice, challenge, and variety. I also find that the form shows a different face depending on your level of practice, understanding, and orientation.

When I do this move, I am working first on training my balance, which I have never been able to master to my satisfaction. If I can master my balance, I work on sinking my Qi. If I can sink my Qi, I work on my control and body method, I.e., using the waist and coordinating upper and lower. If I can do this, then I work on showing strong and calm spirit and focused gaze. If I can do this, which is not as often as it should be, I think of how smooth and continuous the overall motion is. But this is just me.

Consider also that skill in such a pivot and such control gives additional options from a martial viewpoint, when stepping is free.