Pick axe handle as a broadsword for practice.

sabre, sword, spear, etc
Sugelanren

Pick axe handle as a broadsword for practice.

Post by Sugelanren »

I'm going to be asking my Sifu about this when he comes over but it would be nice to hear the opinion of the forum on this.

The other week, while i was at work i had time to do some Tai chi practice. I went to a vacant car park (which my job allows), and began. Unfortunately, i forgot my broadsword (a wooden practice Dao). I looked in the back of the van i was driving, and found a Pick axe handle with the end broken off, almost the exact length as my Dao. I started playing, and as you would expect the extra weight made it difficult for me to hold it in position while i held it outstretched, and i managed to hit myself on the back of the head as i was bringing it round my body. It occurred to me, that this is what would happen if i actually tried to use a metal sword. My practice with a wooden replica has meant that i am not used to holding a weighted implement out for any real length of time.

What do you guys think about using said pick axe handle on a regular basis? It would add a dimension to the form practice, namely conditioning my arms to be able to slowly work with a heavier object. I will be at a weekend masterclass with the Dao, and will ask my Sifu about this, but as this forum seems to have a wealth of Long time Tai chi practitioners, i thought about asking you guys aswell.

Peace...Sean
Bob Ashmore

Re: Pick axe handle as a broadsword for practice.

Post by Bob Ashmore »

First I'd like to say that using the actual weapon to condition yourself to using that weapon is going to be optimal.
However...