Improving cardiovascular fitness and muscle tone

ilovecheerios

Improving cardiovascular fitness and muscle tone

Post by ilovecheerios »

Hello,

I have been practicing Tai Chi Chuan for 3 years and I want to now incorporate some exercises other than more internal martial arts and qi gong.
However, I have heard that doing muscle training could make your muscles tenser and therefore you cannot relax as well.
What exercises would you recommend?
Bob Ashmore

Re: Improving cardiovascular fitness and muscle tone

Post by Bob Ashmore »

Ilovecheerios,

I would recommend working in person with a qualified, experienced TCC instructor on the best way to achieve your fitness goals without interfering with your TCC progress.
This is one of those "I can show you but there's no way to tell you" situations that requires working directly with an instructor.
fchai

Post by fchai »

Hi Ilovecherrios,
It's about balance. There has been some discussion on this matter previously on a thread which I can't recall. A variety of exercise regimes can be quite beneficial. My opinion would be for you to try an exercise regime and just see how it affects your Taiji form, whether positive or negative. Clearly, if you find that your form suffers then stop pursuing that particular exercise regime. Also use the 10 essential principles as a means of ascertaining if the form of exercise you are doing has a detrimental effect on your Taiji form. For instance, if as a consequence of the exercise you are doing, you begin to feel a tightness in your shoulders resulting in difficulties in relaxing and sinking the shoulder and dropping your elbows. Clearly then the exercise is having a negative impact on your Taiji form.
Likewise the practice of other martial forms does not necessarily have a negative effect on your Taiji form, as many on this forum can attest. So, just have a go and see how you go.
Take care,
Frank
Bob Ashmore

Post by Bob Ashmore »

Fchai,