New to Tai Chi

Debsu2

New to Tai Chi

Post by Debsu2 »

Hello All, :D

I am fairly new to tai chi, having done it for just over a month now. I was wondering what is best footwear to wear for tai chi.
On my first week I turned up in flat outdoor shoes but had to take them off due to wooden floor. I tried to do it in my socks but was told I would slip on the floor so was told to do it in my bare feet
Since then I bought tai chi shoes on Amazon but they also slide on the floor so the teacher said just to go in my bare feet from now on as I mange very well.
I cannot wear normal training shoes as I get blisters. I am not too keen on going in bare feet all the time so was wondering if anybody had any ideas as to what is best to wear without sliding or is going barefoot okay in the long run. My teacher says my balance and movement are better in bare feet so I am not sure what is best.
Thanks
fchai

Re: New to Tai Chi

Post by fchai »

Greeting Debsu2,

Quite simply, just wear flat-soled shoes that you are comfortable in. If trainers are a problem, have you considered sandals? These are those such as sold by Teva, Merrell, etc. I am not a fan of so-called Taiji shoes. Socks are definitely a problem on slippery wooden floors. I am also not a fan of regular training in bare feet, as it is not normal footwear for me. Also, doing spins and leaps in bare feet could become an issue.

Take care,
Frank
ChiDragon

Post by ChiDragon »

Hi, Debsu2

What kind of sole of the Tai Chi shoe did you buy? Rubber or cotton sole? I wear the shoes with rubber sole all the time. It works fine for me on the wooden floors. However, it's not a good idea to practice Tai Chi bare footed. Sometimes, there is a move requires a pivot point using the the ball of the foot to make an 360 degree turn maneuver. It might be very difficult to do with a bare foot.

Happy practice!
A deep discussion requires explicit details for a good comprehension of a complex subject.
Debsu2

Post by Debsu2 »

Hello,