Faith in the effectiveness of Tai Chi

Siahn

Faith in the effectiveness of Tai Chi

Post by Siahn »

Hi all,

I have been practising Tai Chi now for over three years and therefore still very new. I have a lot of past experience in hard style martial arts and western boxing and therefore the concept of Tai Chi as a form of self-defence is still a very difficult pill for me to swallow.

I can accept that Tai Chi is a very valuable and effective training accompaniment but I cannot accept that it can be used to as a method to defend or neutralise a serious attack.

However, my school states that it can be used as an effective fighting style and moreover we should train with this in mind. Ie We must be soft but we must be effective and able to use Tai Chi for more than just the purpose of health.

As far as Im concerned this sentiment is great - however Ive yet to see any proof that it can be used effectively. And heres the thing; I want proof. Im tired of hearing the stories of people being blasted across the room or the 92 year old man fending off the would be attackers with just his pinky finger.

Recently at a seminar the ‘master’ (self-appointed master I might add) claimed that ‘because he knows it is effective – he doesn’t have to prove it’. He also stated that we must have faith when we practise and we will eventually understand.

These statements really concern me. Many decades ago I put my faith in something and came out the other end very wounded. I learnt from the experience and since then I have approached everything with a very critical mind. Its not to say that I don’t give things a real chance, I don’t just dismiss something as nonsense because I don’t understand straight away – but neither do I accept something out right without there being real evidence.