Balance

Rob P.

Balance

Post by Rob P. »

I'm new to the art and self taught, but I've learned all the forms for the 24 form routine. My issue is my balance.

After beginning with the commencing form the next form in the 24 form routine is Part the Wild Horse's Mane Left. Simple, step left and do the required moves and weight shifts - no problem. It's immediately after that where the problem arises.

After the forward part of the form, I roll back and pivot the left foot on the heel toward the corner. If at that point I move forward again, I have no balance. None, as in zero balance. I can't even get my right foot off the floor unless I'm well forward over my left knee. If I try to hold my posture and move my right foot, I break the form and have to step right or backward to avoid falling. :oops:

If I stop, and restart with the commencing form I still have no balance after the first rollback but it's not as bad as the first attempt. If I try again a 3rd time, I find myself moving my right foot and pivoting it on the toes before rolling back. I know this is wrong because footwork and it stretches my bow stance too much. But it seems to be an adaption my mind has created to avoid the balance issue.

If after this I keep going and Part the Wild Horse's Mane Right, I'm good for the forward step. The roll back works perfectly and my left foot stays planted while I rotate my right foot toward the corner. Yet, when I step forward to part left for the 2nd time, I have no balance again.

Restarting again, I can now make it through the entire second form without wobbling. It's like I need 3 or 4 tries to get going or something. Once beyond this I seem to be good for the rest of the routine for the most part.

What gives? Is the rear foot supposed to move and I don't know it (nor can I see it in vids either) or is there some secret mojo magic I'm missing?
Audi

Re: Balance

Post by Audi »

Welcome Rob,

Sorry for the delay in approving your post.