Shoes!

JerryKarin

Shoes!

Post by JerryKarin »

A while back I wrote a little piece on shoes for taiji in the Third Rep column. http://www.yangfamilytaichi.com/rep/archives/shoes.htm Curiously this is the topic on which I have received the most mail. For a while I was adding letters I received to the bottom of the archived column, but I was thinking it might work better if we make it a bulletin board topic.

Recently, Andrew wrote the following to me:

"I am a new student of Tai-chi and find the discussion very helpful.

Unfortunately, I am "blessed" with feet that are so bad-flat that a traditional teacher probably would never have accepted me as a student if I came to him as a child. Balance is, as you can imagine, a real
struggle. I keep wondering if I should think of practicing with orthotics in my
shoes (thereby making the platform even higher and less flexible) or if I should
tape my feet.

Any thoughts from other flatfoots out there?"

[This message has been edited by JerryKarin (edited 03-14-2003).]
Wushuer

Post by Wushuer »

Coming from a guy with an arch that won't quit... Don't know if I can help.
I can say that from my end of things, the best shoes I've ever worn are those flat bottomed, no arch supported, cloth chinese shoes.
I love them for exactly the opposite reason of your reader. They make my foot quite a bit flatter on the ground than sneakers or gym shoes or running shoes or any other shoes.
So, while I can't add to the original discussion, those of us with really honkin' big arches like the old fashioned, traditional, plain old, cotton chinese shoes of TCC renown.

[This message has been edited by Wushuer (edited 04-02-2003).]
black cat

Post by black cat »

I am very new to Tai Chi however, I do most things barefooted. Is there any reason one can not play with out any shoes at all? I even used to play soccer barefooted.
mnpli

Post by mnpli »

Hello cousins!:-)

may i chime in? it's been a while