Many different styles of yang tai chi

billtay32

Many different styles of yang tai chi

Post by billtay32 »

Yes I am wondering how there are so many different styles of yang Tai chi. For example the yang tai chi 6 form never heard of it but it exists. Also the traditional 24 step form. ive heard of and seen it but looks nothing like what im studying. Also i have heard about the 36 and 72 movement form are those real or just forms people make up.
Please let me know the answer.
billtay32

Re: Many different styles of yang tai chi

Post by billtay32 »

also how can you find real yang arts
Audi

Post by Audi »

Hi billtay32,

According to what I understand, the Yang family has taught various variations of posture sequences over the last century or two. Various disciples and students of the Yang family have also taught further variations of posture sequences. In my opinion, all Yang Style forms share a certain core floavor; however, what someone defines as "Yang Style" may often be more of a political statement than a factual statement. If you have questions about a particular form, you will probably get better information asking about the history of its transmission than asking whether or not it is "real" or "authentic," which are subjective terms.

This associations has taught four Yang Style forms that could be described as having 103, 49, 16, and 13 postures. We consider only the 103 as being "traditional" and, all things being equal, prefer to use it as the basis for our regular practice. The other forms are merely shortened version of the traditional form and exist to satisfy particular needs. There are others that practice a form that is virtually identical to our 103, but who count the same postures in a different manner, for example arriving at a total of 85. This is more a matter of naming conventions than of substance. The number of the postures does not dictate the quality of the postures or the fidelity to the Yang Style flavor and Tai Chi principles.