Looking for a place to start.

ShannonB

Looking for a place to start.

Post by ShannonB »

Hey, I was wondering if it is possible to participate in the ranking system, and one day become an certified instructor "if" I currently have no school to me. Is it possible to learn what is needed and develop skills using the videos available on this website? Thanks very much.

p.s. Im not a total beginner as I have some training in the short 24 form, but I would realy prefer to learn the full length traditional style.
Mike Lucero

Re: Looking for a place to start.

Post by Mike Lucero »

My opinion is that it is much harder to learn from a video than a person. But, we know someone who learned the hand form and sword form from the dvd's, so it's possible. You already know 24 of the 36 different hand form movements. If you have a pretty good foundation already, you could learn the rest of the movements from video. Master Yang's DVD spells out how to do all the movements correctly. In the seminar video clips on the website, everyone already knows the basic movements, so the descriptions may not be as complete. Still, I think the seminar clips make clear the important points in the Yang Family style, which we want more people to know about.

After viewing some clips, you can ask any questions here, and someone will help you out.

Mike
Audi

Post by Audi »

Hi Shannon,

I agree with Mike that the video can be a great place to start. When I first saw the video, I was amazed at how well it captured much of the teaching that happens at live seminars.

If you are going to start learning with the video, I would also say that there are certain other aspects of your practice that you should probably stress more than the average practitioner.

First, everything stems from you spirit, attitude, and "martial morality" (武德). The stronger you maintain these, the more you will learn and the more opportunities you will probably find to learn.