Dealing with Frustratin in Practice

Kiringat

Dealing with Frustratin in Practice

Post by Kiringat »

Hello all!

I fully intend to talk to my Shifu about this, but am also looking for a wider opinion base. I have been studying Taiji for about 8 months now, and have loved pretty much every moment of it! The stress relief an peace I have found in my practice are pretty incredible! Plus, it is just plain fun. In the beginning, I seemed to have a natural aptitude for picking up the forms, Push Hands, and other outward applications of the art.
However, now we are getting into some of the nitty-gritty details of things. Detailing the applications for the 13 postures, Qigong, and stepping/timing in Push Hands is frustrating for me right now. It just seems like the progress I had been making slowed to a crawl, and that there are things I am just not getting or understanding. I do recognize that I moved pretty quickly in the beginning, and have much to learn. I have no intention of giving up, and don't want to be guilty of "mastering the superficial" and abandoning my studies.
So, I guess my question is how have you dealt with frustrations in you own practice, or the frustrations of students?
Do you take a deep breath and grind through until you have an aha! moment? Should I just let go of worrying about progress and just do it?
Any hints or tips to offer?

Thank you!
Kirin
AdrianaDS

Re: Dealing with Frustratin in Practice

Post by AdrianaDS »

Hello Kirin!