Step up to seven Stars - Shoot Tiger

Hans-Peter

Step up to seven Stars - Shoot Tiger

Post by Hans-Peter »

Hi there,

I'm new in the association but I really enjoy
your discussions since longer times. I'm wondering if one of you (pobably you Louis)can help me with the translation from Yang Cheng-FU's applications book for "Step up to seven Stars" and "Shoot Tiger with the Bow".
Which applications have you been taught by Yang Zhenduo?

Greetings
Louis Swaim

Post by Louis Swaim »

Greetings Hans-Peter,

Here are my rough translations of the sections you asked about from Yang Chengfu's narrative in his book, _Taijiquan tiyong quanshu_. Master Yang Zhenduo's instructions in the application section of his book follow these very closely, but I don't recall seeing him demonstrate applications for these particular forms in person. Perhaps someone else has, and can add some clarity from their impressions. Here are the translations:

~~~~
Section Eighty-Eight: Step Up to Seven Stars

From the previous form, suppose the opponent uses his right hand to chop downward from above. I then advance my body to the left and forward. The two hands change to fists, and simultaneously gather to intersect, forming the shape of the character seven (qi). With the hearts of the palms facing outward (to the sides), [the forearms] ward off (peng zhu). One can also apply the fists in a direct strike to the opponent’s chest.

Section Eighty-Nine: Retreat Astride Tiger