Where is everyone?

Charla Quinn

Where is everyone?

Post by Charla Quinn »

I'm in TC discussion withdrawal. Hey! Somebody talk out there!
l.Walker

Post by l.Walker »

I am brand new to this discussion group and am having a hard time figuring it out. I really would like to see what's going on in the community and hear what people are talking about.
DavidJ

Post by DavidJ »

Hi Charla,

I too have noticed the lack of discussions, so I'll start one off with a question to you and whoever else tunes in.

Where, on the bottom of your foot, is your pivot point and, were you taught to lift your toes before you pivot?

Regards,

David J
Joe P

Post by Joe P »

Hi everybody,
It sure has been quiet around here. But to answer your question about a pivot, I would first like to state that I have been told there are no constants in Taiji. To pivot i have been taught to pivot on the ball of my foot and the heel as well. It is the transfer of weight that is important. If you do not transfer your weight properly you can strain your legs and knees and possibly injure them as well.
Good day,
Joe P
Michael Coulon

Post by Michael Coulon »

David,

As Joe mentioned, you can pivot on both the heal and on the ball of the foot. It really depends on which posture you are transitioning through. Do you have a specific posture that you are thinking of or was it just a general question? I commend Joe also on the proper transfering of weight as this is very important.

Michael.
DavidJ

Post by DavidJ »

Hi Michael and Joe P,

My question, "Where, on the bottom of your foot, is your pivot point and, were you taught to lift your toes before you pivot?" was meant as a general question, in the area of heel pivots, with the idea of getting a discussion going. Some pivot on the center of the heel, some on the back of the heel (which I do not recommend) and some pivot a little bit in front of the heel.