i am teacherless

tanmeiryu

i am teacherless

Post by tanmeiryu »

i recently have been put in an unusual situation and would like your input.

i am 56 years old and i have been a martial artist for years having received ranked black belts in two disciplines and high colored belt ranks in three others. this is totally irrelevant to the practice of taichi chuan but I just wanted to state that I have a background in martial arts.

about three years ago, i started studying tai chi chuan from an instructor at my local gym. the style of karate I had been studying originated with a Chinese style and I could see a lot of the forms had been translated from taichi chuan but now my karate seemed incomplete. when I realized the value and wealth of knowledge to be found in practicing taichi chuan, I gave up all my other practices to concentrate my studies on the grand ultimate fist. i learned the postures of the yang style long form rather quickly and was studying the deeper meanings of the applications and energies of taichi chuan.

about eight months ago, my teacher and the owner of the gym had a disagreement and my teacher was fired. when the lady in charge of scheduling classes came to inform us that there would no longer be a tai chi class, the other students said "what about eric(that's me)? he knows the form. he can teach us.". i quickly told them that i was not qualified to teach as there was so much that i did not know. they responded with "you know more than we do, teach us what you know."

so i became the taichi chuan teacher at the gym.